11th Freiberg Refractory Forum

Opening and Meeting of the DGM/DKG Technical Commitee „Refractories“ will be started on 9 November 2020 at 10 a.m. by Prof. Dr Christos G. Aneziris (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, IKFVW/DE). Highlights are 6 invited lectures, the Theodor-Haase-Award and a poster session.


Invited lectures:

·       Integration of a Shrouded Metal Stream in the Filtration of Large Steel Castings; Nick Child (Foseco International Ltd – Vesuvius Group, Tamworth/GB)

·       Innovative Density-Reduced Alumina Spinel Refractories – Slag Corrosion And Thermomechanical Properties; Dr Christoph Wöhrmeyer (Imerys Aluminates GmbH, Oberhausen/DE)

·       Suitability of CaZrO3 Crucibles and Shell Moulds for the Investment Casting of Titanium and other High-Melting and Highly-Reactive Alloys; Dr Ulrich Klotz (FEM – Forschungsinsitut Edelmetalle + Metallchemie, Schwäbisch-Gmünd/DE)

·       Thermophysical Properties of Metallurgical Slags; Prof. Dr Olena Volkova (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, IEST/DE)

·       Flash Smelting Furnace and Bath Smelting Furnace in the Copper Pyrometallurgy: Process and Technological Aspects; Prof. Dr Alexandros Charitos (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, INEMET/DE)

·       Coarse-Grained Refractory Composites based on (Nb, Ta)–Al2O3 – A Contribution of the rRsearch Unit FOR3010 Refrabund; Dr Tilo Zienert (TU Bergakademie Freiberg, IKFVW/DE)


The Forum will be closed with the Awarding Ceremony Theodor-Haase-Prize. The poster session of the CRC920 will be available via the following link:


back to newsletter