Professor Aneziris Receives Award from the German Materials Society (DGM)

Professor Christos Aneziris has been a professor at the Institute of Ceramics at Freiberg University of Mining and Technology/DE since 2001. In addition, the expert in modern refractory materials works actively on the Board of the Federation for International Refractory Research and Education (Canada), is Guest Professor at Zhengzhou Institute of Aeronautical Industry Management, Henan (China) and Honorary Professor at Wuhan University of Science and Technology, Hubei (China). For his scientific work, which has been reflected in 424 listed publications, 135 patents, 53 completed doctorates and two post-doctoral theses, among other things, Professor Aneziris has already received internationally renowned honours, for example the Alfred W. Allen Award from the American Ceramic Society or the Fellowship of the European Ceramic Society.

“I am delighted at this recognition by the Award Committee and thank the DGM Board for awarding me the Tammann Commemorative Coin. In future, too, my team and I will take great pleasure in contributing to furthering the development of ceramics, refractory and metalloceramic composites at Freiberg University of Mining and Technology,” said Prof. Dr Christos Aneziris during the online presentation of the award.

The Tammann Commemorative Coin honours DGM members who, as leaders of scientifically working research groups, have contributed to material science and engineering with far-reaching scientific research or technical development concepts. It is awarded only once a year at most to an individual, and commemorates Gustav Tammann, who established metallurgy as a physical and chemical science.

back to newsletter