Home » Markets & News » Company News » ICG Awardees 2011 Announced

ICG Awardees 2011 Announced

The GOTTARDI PRIZE initiated in 1987 in memory of Prof. V. Gottardi – former ICG president and affiliated with the University of Padua – is awarded annually to young people with outstanding achievements in the field of glass in research and development, teaching, writing, management or commerce. In 2011 the Gottardi Prize was awarded to Dr John Mauro of the Science and Technology Division, Corning Incorporated, Corning, N.Y. The TURNER AWARD inaugurated in 2002 in memory of Prof. W.E.S. Turner, first ICG president and founder of the Department of Glass Technology at Sheffield University, rewards those who have made a noteworthy contribution to the ICG Technical Committees. This award was presented in 2011 to Prof. Reinhard Conradt, RWTH Aachen / DE. He serves in the International Commission on Glass as a member of the Technical Committee 18 “Glass Melting” and as Chairman of the Technical Committee 23 “Education and Training”. He is also one of the main organizers and a lecturer of the annual “Montpellier Summer School” of the ICG. The Coordinating Technical Committee decided to reward this outstanding activity with the Turner Award 2011. The International Commission on Glass (ICG) is a non-profit international glass society consisting of 34 national organizations in glass science and technology. The aim of ICG is to promote cooperation between glass experts. ICG organizes Technical Committee (TC) work (laboratory round robins, publication of scientific and technical papers). ICG organizes the International Congress on Glass every three years. www.icglass.org

Related Supplier

Profiles to follow