Home » Markets & News » Company News » International Commission on Glass Awards Presented

International Commission on Glass Awards Presented

The “Woldemar A. Weyl International Glass Science Award” was established in 1976 by the Pennsylvania State University, in collaboration with the ICG in memory of Prof. W.A. Weyl, formerly affiliated with the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institute for Silicate Research, Berlin / DE, and with the Pennsylvania State University. It is awarded once every three years to an outstanding young scientist working in glass research. In 2010 the Weyl Award was awarded to Dr John Mauro of the Science and Technology Division, Corning Incorporated, Corning, NY / USA. The “Gottardi Prize” initiated in 1987 in memory of Prof. V. Gottardi – former ICG president and affiliated with the University of Padua – is awarded annually to young people with outstanding achievements in the field of glass in research and development, teaching, writing, management or commerce. In 2010 the prize was awarded to Dr Maria Jesus Pascual, Instituto de Cerámica y Vidrio (CSIC / ES). The “ICG President´s Award” was established in 1995 to recognise outstanding lifetime contributions to the international glass community in areas such as scientific discoveries, engineering developments, artistic accomplishments, leadership and communications. In 2010 the ICG honored Prof. H.A. Schaeffer / DE, Prof. G.H. Frischat / DE and Prof. L.D. Pye / US with the Presidents Award.  The “Turner Award“ inaugurated in 2002 in memory of Prof. W.E.S. Turner, first ICG president and founder of the Department of Glass Technology at Sheffield University, rewards those who have made a noteworthy contribution to the ICG Technical Committees. This award was presented in 2010 to Dr Klaus Bange / DE. (10/2010)

Related Supplier

Profiles to follow